REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: June 2, 2020

TITLE: (Continued from May 19, 2020) Appointment to the

Planning Commission to Fill Vacancy for Unexpired Term

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, CMC, City Clerk

RECOMMENDATION

Ratify Council Member Betts' appointment to the Planning Commission to fill one (1) vacancy consisting of an unexpired term ending January 2022.

DISCUSSION

On April 21, 2020, Dawn Griffiths was removed from the Planning Commission resulting in one (1) vacancy:

Position	Incumbent	Appointed On	Term Expires	Appointed By
Chair	Larry Buchanan	February 4, 2020	January 2022	Gary Gardner
Vice-Chair	James Nindel	February 4, 2020	January 2022	Scott Matas
Commissioner	Agustin Aragon	February 4, 2020	January 2022	Robert Griffith
Commissioner	Richard Duffle	February 4, 2020	January 2022	Jan Pye
Commissioner	Dawn Griffiths VACANT	February 4, 2020	January 2022	Russell Betts

Appointment Process:

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code ("DHSMC") Section 2.24.030, if vacancies in any commission occur other than by expiration of term, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Council Member who appointed the Commissioner being replaced, with ratification by a majority of the City Council. Accordingly, Council Member Betts is designated by the Municipal Code to appoint his replacement.

Additionally, pursuant to DHSMC Section 2.24.020, the term of the replacement appointment for an interim vacancy is for the "unexpired" term of the member replaced. Therefore, the term of the replacement appointment would end January 2022.

Pursuant to The Maddy Act (set forth in Government Code Section 54970 et. seq.), a special vacancy notice (Exhibit 13) was posted by the City Clerk on April 23, 2020.

Applicants:

The following list is inclusive of individuals who applied for this vacancy; and during the commission recruitment in January 2020. The applications are attached hereto for appointment consideration by Council Member Betts and subsequent ratification by the City Council:

	First Name	Last Name
1	Kent	Andersen
2	Michaelangelo	Drago
3	Mirna	Flores
4	Quana	Hall-Beverly
5	Nicholas	Horn
6	Eugene	Huffman
7	Ted	Mayrhofen
8	Roger	Nunez

9	Thomas	Ongalibang
10	Margarita	Prado
11	Terisa	Price
12	John	Tinker
13	Peter	Tsachpinis

FISCAL IMPACT:

Pursuant to Municipal Code Section 2.32.050, Planning Commissioners receive a salary in the amount of \$50 per any officially convened Commission meeting that they attend.

EXHIBIT(S)

- 1) Application Kent Andersen
- 2) Application Michaelangelo Drago
- 3) Application Mirna Flores
- 4) Application Quana Hall-Beverly
- 5) Application Nicholas Horn
- 6) Application Eugene Huffman
- 7) Application Ted Mayrhofen
- 8) Application Roger Nunez
- 9) Application Thomas Ongalibang
- 10) Application Margarita Prado
- 11) Application Terisa Price
- 12) Application John Tinker
- 13) Application Peter Tsachpinis
- 14) Notice of Unscheduled Vacancy, dated April 23, 2020