REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: February 4, 2020

TITLE: City Council Appointments to the Planning Commission

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, CMC, City Clerk

RECOMMENDATION

Appoint Five (5) Members to the Planning Commission for a Two-Year Term Expiring in January 2022.

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION

As of January 2020, the current two-year term which commenced in January 2018 for all five members of the Planning Commission has expired.

About the Planning Commission:

The City's success is linked to its ability to plan for the future. As such, the Planning Commission plays a vital role. The commission's responsibilities include:

- Ongoing evaluation of the City's building codes and ordinances;
- Continual update of the City's General Plan;
- General oversight of zoning review and variances.

Appointment Process

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code (DHSMC) § 2.24.020:

- One (1) member of each Commission shall be appointed by one (1) member of the City Council, and ratified by a majority of the City Council;
- Members of any commission shall be appointed for two-year terms commencing at the February meeting of the year of appointment;
- At the completion of any term, a commission member may be reappointed pursuant to the procedures set forth in this section;
- Vacancies that occur shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term of the member replaced.

On January 9, 2020, the City Clerk's Office issued a Notice of Vacancies (Exhibit 1) announcing the vacancies and opening the application period through January 29, 2020. Applicants and reappointment requests from incumbents are listed in below.

	First Name	Last Name	Planning Commission Preference
1	Kent	Andersen	1st Choice
2	Wayne	Clemons	2nd Choice
3	Jacqueline	Devereaux	2nd Choice
4	Michaelangelo	Drago	1st Choice
5	Amin	EI	2nd Choice
6	Ellen	Finan	2nd Choice
7	Mirna	Flores	1st Choice
8	Quana	Hall-Beverly	1st Choice
9	Nicholas	Horn	1st Choice

10	Eugene	Huffman	1st Choice
11	Karen	Johnson	3rd Choice
12	Thomas	Ongalibang	1st Choice
13	Terisa	Price	1st Choice
14	Vanessa	Schussler	2nd Choice
15	Deby	Shoemaker	2nd Choice
16	Mary-Kate	Stoever	2nd Choice
17	John	Tinker	1st Choice
18	Peter	Tsachpinis	1st Choice
19	Ashley	Verral	3rd Choice
20	James	Wilson	2nd Choice

Re-Appointment Requests

_	First	Last	Requests Re-Appointment	Appointed By	Appointed On	Notes
1	Agustin	Aragon	Yes	Robert Griffith (Anayeli Zavala)	September 3, 2019	Appointed to fill vacancy (Robert Griffith)
2	Larry	Buchanan	Yes	Gary Gardner (Joe McKee)	January 16, 2018	
3	Richard	Duffle	Yes	Jan Pye (Yvonne Parks)	January 15, 2019	Appointed to fill vacancy (Gary Gardner)
4	Dawn	Griffiths	No Response	Russell Betts	October 1, 2019	Appointed to fill vacancy (Scott De la Torre)
5	James	Nindel	Yes	Scott Matas	April 17, 2018	Appointed to fill vacancy (Dirk Voss)

FISCAL IMPACT

Pursuant to DHSMC Sections 2.32.050, 2.44.060, and 2.40.050, members of each Commission receive a salary in the amount of \$50.00 per any officially convened Commission meeting that they attend.

EXHIBITS:

- 1) Kent Andersen Application
- 2) Wayne Clemons Application
- 3) Jacqueline Devereaux Application
- 4) Michaelangelo Drago Application
- 5) Amin El Application
- 6) Ellen Finan Application
- 7) Mirna Flores Application
- 8) Quana Hall-Beverly Application
- 9) Nicholas Horn Application
- 10) Eugene Huffman Application
- 11) Karen Johnson Application
- 12) Thomas Ongalibang Application
- 13) Terisa Price Application
- 14) Vanessa Schussler Application
- 15) Deby Shoemaker Application
- 16) Mary-Kate Stoever Application
- 17) John Tinker Application
- 18) Peter Tsachpinis Application
- 19) Ashley Verral Application
- 20) James Wilson Application