# REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: October 1, 2019

TITLE: Appointment to the Planning Commission to Fill Vacancy

for Unexpired Term

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, City Clerk

#### RECOMMENDATION

Ratify Council Member Betts' appointment to the Planning Commission to fill one (1) vacancy consisting of an unexpired term ending January 2020.

#### **DISCUSSION**

On September 11, 2019, Scott De la Torre resigned from the Planning Commission resulting in one (1) vacancy:

Position	Incumbent	Appointed On	Term Expires	Appointed By
Chair	Larry Buchanan	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Joe McKee
Vice-Chair	Scott De la Torre VACANT	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Russell Betts
Commissioner	Richard Duffle	January 15, 2019	January 2020	Jan Pye
Commissioner	Agustin Aragon	September 3, 2019	January 2020	Robert Griffith
Commissioner	James Nindel	April 17, 2018	January 2020	Scott Matas

# **Appointment Process:**

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code ("DHSMC") Section 2.24.030, if vacancies in any commission occur other than by expiration of term, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Council Member who appointed the Commissioner being replaced, with ratification by a majority of the City Council. Accordingly, Council Member Betts is designated by the Municipal Code to appoint his replacement.

Additionally, pursuant to DHSMC Section 2.24.020, the term of the replacement appointment for an interim vacancy is for the "unexpired" term of the member replaced. Therefore, the term of the replacement appointment would end January 2020.

Pursuant to The Maddy Act (set forth in Government Code Section 54970 et. seq.), a special vacancy notice (Exhibit 1) was posted by the City Clerk on September 16, 2019.

#### Applicants:

The following applications are attached hereto for appointment consideration by Council Member Betts and subsequent ratification by the City Council:

	First Name	Last Name	Resident	Registered Voter
1	Cathy	Barber	Yes	Yes
2	David	Coffman	Yes	Yes
3	Dawn	Griffiths	Yes	Yes
4	David	Grudzinski	Yes	Yes
5	Eugene	Huffman	Yes	Yes
6	Cliff	Lavy	Yes	Yes
7	John	Tinker	Yes	Yes

# **FISCAL IMPACT:**

Pursuant to Municipal Code Section 2.32.050, Planning Commissioners receive a salary in the amount of \$50 per any officially convened Commission meeting that they attend.

# EXHIBIT(S):

- 1) Notice of Unscheduled Vacancy, dated September 16, 2019
- 2) Commission Application Dawn Griffiths (Paper Submittal)
- 3) Commission Application Cliff Lavy (Paper Submittal)
- 4) List of Previous Commission Applicants and Responses to Application Questions (Electronic Submittals)