

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL

DRAFT ACTION MINUTES

JUNE 25, 2019 5:00 PM

CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS CARL MAY COMMUNITY CENTER 11711 West Drive, Desert Hot Springs, California

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Matas called the Special Meeting to order at 5:00 P.M.

ROLL CALL

Present:

Council Members: Russell Betts, Gary Gardner

Mayor Pro Tem: Jan Pye Mayor: Scott Matas

Absent:

Council Member: Anayeli Zavala

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mayor Matas led the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Florence Martin spoke regarding the appointment process.

Cliff Lavy spoke regarding the appointment process.

Pamela Berry spoke regarding the appointment process.

ACTION ITEMS

1. Candidate Interviews and Appointment to Fill City Council Vacancy Created by the Resignation of Anayeli Zavala

City Clerk, Jerryl Soriano, CMC

Recommendation: Adopt a Resolution of the City Council of the City of Desert

Hot Springs appointing a qualified individual to fill the City Council vacancy created by the resignation of Council Member Anayeli Zavala, effective upon vacation of the Seat.

The City Council conducted the candidate interviews. Candidates were distributed into 4 groups determined by random drawing by the City Clerk.

Interview questions were submitted in advance by the Mayor and City Council. For each group, the Mayor and City Council randomly drew the interview questions asked of each candidate.

Group 1 Interviews:

- 1) Walt Meyer
- 2) Dawn Griffiths
- 3) Catherine Barber
- 4) Jason Moore

The City Council recessed at 6:11 P.M.

The City Council reconvened at 6:17 P.M.

Group 2 Interviews:

- 5) Roger Nunez
- 6) Mirna Flores
- 7) Donna Poyuzina
- 8) Michael Picardi
- 9) John Stuart

The City Council recessed at 7:07 P.M.

The City Council reconvened at 8:10 P.M.

Group 3 Interviews:

- 10) Jim Fitzgerald
- 11) Richard Duffle
- 12) Karl Baker
- 13) John Tinker
- 14) Robert Griffith

The City Council recessed at 8:09 P.M.

The City Council reconvened at 8:23 P.M.

At this time, the City Council (except the Mayor) selected their top candidates to proceed to the final round.

Council Member Gardner selected Catherine Barber and Robert Griffith.

Council Member Betts selected Dawn Griffiths.

Mayor Pro Tem Pye selected Walt Meyer.

The finalists each provided their final statements in the following order: 1) Catherine Barber; 2) Robert Griffith; 3) Dawn Griffiths; and 4) Walt Meyer.

Mayor Matas nominated Robert Griffith.

<u>Action</u>: Matas moved to ratify Mayor Matas' nomination of Robert Griffith for appointment to the City Council; and adopt *Resolution No. 2019-034*, motion seconded by Gardner, motion carried 4/0 by the following vote:

<u>Vote</u>: AYES: 4 - Matas, Betts, Pye, Gardner

Passed NOES: 0 - (None)

ABSENT: 1 - Zavala

ADJOURN SPECIAL MEETING

Mayor Matas adjourned the Special Meeting at 8:45 P.M.

Jerryl Soriano, CMC, City Clerk