REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: June 18, 2019

TITLE: Appointment to the Public Safety Commission to Fill

Vacancy for Unexpired Term

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, City Clerk

RECOMMENDATION

Ratify Council Member Zavala's appointment to the Public Safety Commission to fill one (1) vacancy consisting of an unexpired term ending January 2020.

DISCUSSION

Nina Duarte resigned from the Public Safety Commission in May of 2019 resulting in one (1) vacancy:

Position	Incumbent	Appointed On	Term Expires	Appointed By
Chair	Donna Lozano	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Scott Matas
Vice-Chair	Ted Mayrhofen	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Russell Betts
Commissioner	Lee Eastman	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Jan Pye
Commissioner	Nina Duarte VACANT	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Anayeli Zavala
Commissioner	Walt Meyer	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Gary Gardner

Appointment Process:

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code ("DHSMC") Section 2.24.030, if vacancies in any commission occur other than by expiration of term, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Council Member who appointed the Commissioner being replaced, with ratification by a majority of the City Council. Accordingly, Council Member Zavala is designated by the Municipal Code to appoint Ms. Duarte's replacement.

Additionally, pursuant to DHSMC Section 2.24.020, the term of the replacement appointment for an interim vacancy is for the "unexpired" term of the member replaced. Therefore, the term of the replacement appointment would end January 2020.

Pursuant to The Maddy Act (set forth in Government Code Section 54970 et. seq.), a special vacancy notice (Exhibit 1) was posted by the City Clerk on May 21, 2019.

Applicants:

The following applications are attached hereto for appointment consideration by Council Member Zavala and subsequent ratification by the City Council:

	First Name	Last Name	Resident	Registered Voter
1	Joshua	Bissot	Yes	Yes
2	Kelly	Brady	Yes	Yes
3	Florence	Martin	Yes	Yes
4	Kenneth	Mitchell	Yes	Yes
5	Elizabeth	Santos	Yes	Yes
6	Richard	Stephens	Yes	Yes
7	John	Stuart	Yes	Yes
8	Theodore	Yates, Jr.	Yes	Yes

FISCAL IMPACT:

Pursuant to Municipal Code Section 2.40.050, Public Safety Commissioners receive a salary in the amount of \$50 per any officially convened Commission meeting that they attend.

EXHIBIT(S):

- 1) Notice of Unscheduled Vacancy, dated May 21, 2019
- 2) Application Joshua Bissot3) Application Kelly Brady
- 4) Application Florence Martin
- 5) Application Kenneth Mitchell
- 6) Application Elizabeth Santos
- 7) Application Richard Stephens
- 8) Application John Stuart
- 9) Application Theodore Yates, Jr.