REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: January 15, 2019

TITLE: Appointment to the Planning Commission to Fill Vacancy

for Unexpired Term

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, CMC, City Clerk

RECOMMENDATION

Ratify Mayor Pro Tem Jan Pye's appointment to the Planning Commission to fill one (1) vacancy consisting of an unexpired term ending January 2020.

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION:

Gary Gardner's election to the City Council resulted in one (1) vacancy on the Planning Commission.

Position	Incumbent	Appointed On	Term Expires	Appointed By
Chair	Larry Buchanan	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Joe McKee
Vice-Chair	Scott De la Torre	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Russell Betts
Commissioner	Gary Gardner VACANT	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Jan Pye
Commissioner	Robert Griffith	October 2, 2018	January 2020	Anayeli Zavala
Commissioner	James Nindel	April 17, 2018	January 2020	Scott Matas

Appointment Process:

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code ("DHSMC") Section 2.24.030, if vacancies in any commission occur other than by expiration of term, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Council Member who appointed the Commissioner being replaced — with ratification by a majority of the City Council. Accordingly, Mayor Pro Tem Jan Pye is designated by the Municipal Code to appoint Mr. Gardner's replacement.

Additionally, pursuant to DHSMC Section 2.24.020, the term of the replacement appointment for an interim vacancy is for the "unexpired" term of the member replaced. Therefore, the term of the replacement appointment would end January 2020.

Pursuant to The Maddy Act (set forth in Government Code Section 54970 *et. seq.*), a special vacancy notice (Exhibit 1) was posted by the City Clerk on December 18, 2018.

Applicants:

The following applications were received and are attached hereto for appointment consideration by Mayor Pro Tem Pye and subsequent ratification by the City Council:

	Name	Resident	Registered Voter
1	Richard Duffle	Yes	Yes
2	Jacqueline Grad	Yes	Yes
3	Jennefer Garcia	Yes	Yes
4	Richard James	Yes	Yes
5	Ted Mayrhofen (Planning Commission is 2 nd Choice)	Yes	Yes
6	Gerald Miller	Yes	Yes
7	David Petrinovich	Yes	Yes
8	Kacey Shaughnessy	Yes	Yes
9	Kephyan Sheppard	Yes	Yes

FISCAL IMPACT:

Pursuant to Municipal Code Section 2.32.050, Planning Commissioners receive a salary in the amount of \$50 per any officially convened Planning Commission meeting that they attend.

EXHIBIT(S):

- 1) Notice of Unscheduled Vacancy (Planning Commission), dated December 18, 2018
- 2) Application Richard Duffle
- 3) Application Jacqueline Grad
- 4) Application Jennefer Garcia
- 5) Application Richard James
- 6) Application Ted Mayrhofen
- 7) Application Gerald Miller
- 8) Application David Petrinovich
- 9) Application Kacey Shaughnessy
- 10) Application Kephyan Sheppard