REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: October 2, 2018

TITLE: Appointment to the Planning Commission to Fill Vacancy

for Unexpired Term

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, CMC, City Clerk

RECOMMENDATION

Ratify Mayor Pro Tem Anayeli Zavala's appointment to the Planning Commission to fill one (1) vacancy consisting of an unexpired term ending January 2020.

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION:

Jan Pye's appointment to the City Council resulted in one (1) vacancy on the Planning Commission.

Position	Incumbent	Appointed On	Term Expires	Appointed By
Chair	Larry Buchanan	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Joe McKee
Vice-Chair	Peter De la Torre	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Russell Betts
Commissioner	Gary Gardner	February 6, 2018	January 2020	Yvonne Parks
Commissioner	James Nindel	April 17, 2018	January 2020	Scott Matas
Commissioner	Jan Pye VACANT	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Anayeli Zavala

Appointment Process:

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code ("DHSMC") Section 2.24.030, if vacancies in any commission occur other than by expiration of term, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Council Member who appointed the Commissioner being replaced – with ratification by a majority of the City Council. Accordingly, Mayor Pro Tem Anayeli Zavala is designated by the Municipal Code to appoint Ms. Pye's replacement.

Additionally, pursuant to DHSMC Section 2.24.020, the term of the replacement appointment for an interim vacancy is for the "unexpired" term of the member replaced. Therefore, the term of the replacement appointment would end January 2020.

Pursuant to The Maddy Act (set forth in Government Code Section 54970 et. seq.), a special vacancy notice (Exhibit 1) was posted by the City Clerk on August 27, 2018.

Applicants:

The following applications were received and are attached hereto for consideration for appointment by Mayor Pro Tem Zavala and subsequent ratification by the City Council:

_	Name	Resident	Registered Voter
1	Agustin Aragon	Yes	Yes
2	Richard Duffle	Yes	Yes
3	Jacqueline Grad	Yes	Yes
4	Jennefer Garcia	Yes	Yes
5	Robert Griffith	Yes	Yes
6	Richard James	Yes	Yes
7	Gerald Miller	Yes	Yes
8	Vernon Rutherford	Yes	Yes
9	Kacey Shaughnessy	Yes	Yes
10	Kephyan Sheppard	Yes	Yes

FISCAL IMPACT:

Pursuant to Municipal Code Section 2.32.050, Planning Commissioners receive a salary in the amount of \$50 per any officially convened Planning Commission meeting that they attend.

EXHIBIT(S):

- 1) Notice of Unscheduled Vacancy (Planning Commission), dated August 27, 2018
- 2) Extension of Application Deadline
- 3) Application Agustin Aragon
- 4) Application Richard Duffle
- 5) Application Jacqueline Grad
- 6) Application Jennefer Garcia
- 7) Application Robert Griffith
- 8) Application Richard James
- 9) Application Gerald Miller
- 10) Application Vernon Rutherford
- 11) Application Kacey Shaugnessy
- 12) Application Kephyan Sheppard