REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL



DATE: April 17, 2018

TITLE: Appointment to the Planning Commission to Fill Vacancy for Unexpired Term

Prepared by: Jerryl Soriano, CMC, City Clerk

RECOMMENDATION

Ratify Mayor Scott Matas' appointment to the Planning Commission to fill one (1) vacancy consisting of an unexpired term ending January 2020.

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION:

Dirk Voss resigned from the Planning Commission on March 13, 2018 resulting in one (1) vacancy.

Position	Incumbent	Appointed On	Term Expires	Appointed By
Chair	Jan Pye	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Anayeli Zavala
Vice-Chair	Peter De la Torre	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Russell Betts
Commissioner	Larry Buchanan	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Joe McKee
Commissioner	Gary Gardner	February 6, 2018	January 2020	Yvonne Parks
Commissioner	Dirk Voss VACANT	January 16, 2018	January 2020	Scott Matas

Appointment Process:

Pursuant to Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code ("DHSMC") Section 2.24.030, if vacancies in any commission occur other than by expiration of term, such vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Council Member who appointed the Commissioner being replaced – with ratification by a majority of the City Council. Accordingly, Mayor Scott Matas is designated by the Municipal Code to appoint Mr. Voss' replacement.

Additionally, pursuant to DHSMC Section 2.24.020, the term of the replacement appointment for an interim vacancy is for the "unexpired" term of the member replaced. Therefore, the term of the replacement appointment would end January 2020.

Pursuant to The Maddy Act (set forth in Government Code Section 54970 *et. seq.*), a special vacancy notice (Exhibit 1) was posted by the City Clerk on March 21, 2017– not earlier than 20 days before and not later than 20 days after the vacancy occurs. Final appointment shall not be made by the legislative body (City Council) for at least 10 working days after the posting of the Notice.

Applicants:

The following applications were received and are attached hereto for consideration for appointment by Mayor Matas and subsequent ratification by the City Council:

	Name	Resident	Registered Voter
1	Agustin Aragon	Yes	Yes
2	Dawn Diaz	Yes	Yes
3	Matthew Ennis	Yes	Yes
4	Jennefer Garcia	Yes	Yes
5	Richard James	Yes	Yes
6	Gerald Miller	Yes	Yes
7	James Nindel	Yes	Yes
8	David Nunn	Yes	Yes

FISCAL IMPACT:

Pursuant to Municipal Code Section 2.32.050, Planning Commissioners receive a salary in the amount of \$50 per any officially convened Planning Commission meeting that they attend.

EXHIBIT(S):

- 1) Notice of Unscheduled Vacancy (Planning Commission), dated March 21, 2018
- 2) Application Agustin Aragon
- 3) Application Dawn Diaz
- 4) Application Matthew Ennis
- 5) Application Jennefer Garcia
- 6) Application Richard James
- 7) Application Gerald Miller
- 8) Application James Nindel
- 9) Application David Nunn